The Dark Academicals Book Club
The Dark Academicals Book Club Podcast
Saltburn - Summer AV Club #1
0:00
-40:57

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Dark Academicals Book Club

Saltburn - Summer AV Club #1

It's murder on the dancefloor *stamps*

Welcome to The Dark Academicals SUMMER AV CLUB!

The Dark Academia train just keeps on chugging along and for the next few weeks you lovely paid subs can expect cinematic exploration into those films which have a very distinct Dark Academia flavour.

To kick it off we’re going big with 2023’s ‘Saltburn’. The film that everyone was talking about (and still gets a reaction when you bring it up in conversation).

‘Saltburn’ is one of those films that you watched, willingly or not, and you have to have feelings about.

I’m still not sure if I actively “like” this film as a whole, but I adore the way it was shot, and the casting was perfect. It’s a piece of art, for sure, and one that people will continue to reference.

It has, in many ways, become a cornerstone. It is also maybe one of the loudest and easiest pieces of cinema that can be labelled as “Millennial”. And much like its literary counterparts, I’m still not sure how I feel about that… We’re a strange generation. Not sure I’m ready to face that in all of my pop culture just yet.

Please. Don’t make me acknowledge my fading youth by bringing back songs and fashion that needed to stay in the early 00s.

Anyway, however you feel about this feel, we hope you enjoy deep diving into its Dark Academia roots with us!

This post is for paid subscribers

The Dark Academicals Book Club
The Dark Academicals Book Club Podcast
Special episodes of The Dark Academicals podcast especially for our substack community!