The Dark Academicals Book Club
The Dark Academicals Book Club Podcast
Summer AV Club #8: 'Cruel Intentions' (1999)
0:00
-27:13

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Dark Academicals Book Club

Summer AV Club #8: 'Cruel Intentions' (1999)

a dreamy 90s aesthetic

There’s something about the 90s that screams dark academia for me.

Based on the 1782 novel ‘Les Liaisons dangereuses’ by Pierre Choderlos de Laclos, ‘Cruel Intentions’ brings that story up to 90s Manhattan and it delivers on the vibes.

Everything about this film oozes 90s nostalgia and although it was the first time I’ve seen it, it made me feel nostalgic too. Mainly because it reminded me of the late 90s and early 00s teen films that framed my tween and teen years.

This post is for paid subscribers

The Dark Academicals Book Club
The Dark Academicals Book Club Podcast
Special episodes of The Dark Academicals podcast especially for our substack community!